The Roman Kingdom was founded in 753 BCE, suppossedly by Romulus and Remus, the sons of the Roman god Mars. The Roman Kingdom fell in 509 BCE, under the rule of Tarquin the Proud, the seventh and final king of Rome. The Roman Kingdom was replaced with the Roman Republic.

The Roman Kingdom existed for 244 years.

There were seven kings of Rome, and some were definitely better than others... Numa Pompilius for example was a good king, who had a deep respect for the gods, he much to expand the infrastructure of Rome. Tarquin the Proud on the other hand was a tyrannt who forced the city of Rome to rebel against his rule and banish him from the city.

For more about the Roman Kingdom and the seven kings visit our Roman Kingdom page.

Seven Kings of Rome (Romulus, Numa Pompilius, Tullus Hostilius, Ancus Marcius, Tarquin the Elder, Servius Tulius, Tarquin the Proud) The Seven Kings of Rome

Share this page