There were seven kings during the Roman Kingdom. The first was the legendary Romulus who supposedly established Rome in 753 BCE. The last king of Rome was Tarquin the Proud who was overthrown to bring an end to the Roman monarchy, giving way to the Roman Republic in 509 BCE.

  1. Romulus
  2. Numa Pompilius
  3. Tullus Hostilius
  4. Ancus Marcius
  5. Tarquin the Elder
  6. Servius Tullius
  7. Tarquin the Proud

The average reign of each king was just under thirty-five years, quite impressive, eh?

For more about the Roman Kingdom and the seven kings visit our Roman Kingdom page.

Seven Kings of Rome (Romulus, Numa Pompilius, Tullus Hostilius, Ancus Marcius, Tarquin the Elder, Servius Tulius, Tarquin the Proud) The Seven Kings of Rome

Share this page